About the CRA

The Certified Radiology Administrator (CRA) credential is an exam-based certification tailored specifically to medical imaging administration, focusing on all aspects of imaging management in the range of practice settings.

The CRA is earned by passing a 185 question exam testing knowledge and excellence in:
  • Human Resource Management (HR)
  • Asset Resource Management (AM)
  • Financial Management (FM)
  • Operations Management (OM)
  • Communication and Information Management (CI)
Additionally, the credential must be renewed every three years and requires a minimum of 36 contact hours of continuing education studies in the five domains tested on the CRA examination, assuring continued high standards of knowledge and excellence.

CRA Benefits

  • Recognized and documented affirmation of skills and capabilities
  • Confirmation of strong and relevant imaging management experience
  • Validation of proven business acumen, particularly in the skills essential to imaging managers
  • Recognition of high standard of achievement

Why Become a CRA?

  • The CRA credential distinguishes individuals as proven, skilled, knowledgeable leaders in the field of imaging management
  • It can increase career opportunities, enhance professional recognition, and provide personal satisfaction.
  • The CRA is the only professional credential tailored specifically for imaging administrators

Why Hire a CRA?

  • Validated high-level management competencies
  • Advanced understanding of the principles of the imaging business
  • Demonstrated ability in applying knowledge and leadership to guide and develop imaging management teams
  • Certified, proven high standards of achievement and ethics
Click here to download a PDF information sheet about the CRA

The CRA program, including the examination, is managed by the Radiology Administration Certification Commission (RACC), a self-governing body created to maintain the credential’s integrity and relevance.