CRA Eligibility Requirements

Eligibility for the CRA exam is based on a point system, with 7 points required to be eligible to take the exam. Points are earned through a combination of experience, education, and/or credentials. Anyone who accumulates the 7 points and submits a complete and valid application with required documentation and fees may sit for the exam. Candidates do not need to join AHRA or hold ARRT or other credentialing to be eligible to take the exam.


  • Maximum of 6 points (7 with 10 or more years of experience)
  • One point is credited for each year of experience as an imaging administrator
  • Experience is defined as management, supervisory, or administrative experience in radiology or medical imaging with responsibility for activities in the following domains
    • Asset Resource Management
    • Fiscal Management
    • Human Resource Management
    • Operations Management
    • Communication and Information Management
Note: Fiscal and Human Resource domain requirements may be met through experience outside of imaging.


  • Maximum of 4 points 
  • Applicants for the CRA exam must have either: (a) at least 1 point earned through education, or (b) have a minimum of 10 years experience without an education point. Points are credited as follows:
  Education   Discipline   Point Value  
  High School   n/a   0  
  AA or AS degree (non-imaging)   Any   1  
  AA or AS or Certificate program in radiology, MRI, sonography, radiation therapy, or NM 
  Hospital-based or college-based (ARRT, RDMS or CNMT) program in radiology, magnetic resonance imaging, sonography, radiation therapy, or nuclear medicine

  BA/BS   Any   3  
  Masters or Doctorate degree   Any   4  

Note: Education points are not cumulative for each level of education, only the point value for the highest education applies. For example, if you have both a certificate and a BS degree, you may only claim the 3 points earned for holding a BS degree.


  • Maximum of 1 point—not required
  • The credential must be imaging related and from a nationally recognized credentialing authority. It must be current as of the time you take the CRA exam. Credentialing is not required for exam eligibility. Examples include:
    • ARRT (American Registry of Radiologic Technologists)
    • ARDMS (American Registry of Diagnostic Medical Sonographers)
    • NMTCB (Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board)
    • RCC (Radiology Certified Coder)

CRA Logo Usage

Candidates who successfully complete the Certified Radiology Administrator (CRA) examination may use the Certified Radiology Administrator (CRA) logo as a graphic symbol of the individual’s accomplishment. To obtain permission for usage of the CRA logo, review the Guidelines and completion of the Certified Radiology Administrator Program Agreement.